Reviews

Maryanne – Thornton, Colorado, United States
20 – 27 Aug 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Absolutely the best ever! Delightful couple that could easily become friends. Bev and John traveled across Denver ahead of their scheduled pet sit to meet Josie and learned about her routine. They kept us informed as to her well being and even took her swimming!! There was never ever any worry about Josie’s care. Our dog seemed to care less about our return and seemed to miss Bev and John by going into their bedroom to sleep the night after they left. The house was left in great shape and neighbors reported as to how nice they were and what great care Josie was receiving. We even found they left us some special treats. We simply cannot say enough as to how pleased we were with their stay. Their experience is obvious and anyone requesting their service should be thrilled and fortunate to have them accept their offer.

Josie made our jobs easy in Thornton, Colorado

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pamela and George, Parker, Colorado
August 9, 2021 – August 20, 2021

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

John and Bev are wonderful pet/house sitters. We were able to leave without any worries. Our home and gardens were in good hands. Our two dogs were well cared for and treated with love and kindness. They provided pictures and a video of the dogs throughout our vacation. John and Bev also went the extra mile by having dinner ready when we returned and provided us with 2 quiches for breakfast from our favorite French bakery. I would highly recommend John and Bev to take care of your home and pets. I am looking forward to the future when we can get together again, whether it’s to housesit or just to get together and have dinner with a charming couple.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jennifer – Castle Pines, Colorado, United States
July 23 – July 31, 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

We would welcome Bev and John back into our home at anytime (even if we weren’t traveling ;-). I could not recommend them more for any sit. Communication prior to the sit was very easy and immediately gave me a sense of comfort that they would be caring for our pups. They paid close attention to our welcome guide having reviewed it prior to their arrival. As we walked through the house and the dogs routine they asked great questions that would help them through the week. Bev posted adorable pics of the pups that made my heart melt. You can truly tell they love the animals they care for. Bev & John please come back 💕

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Melanie Clary and Chris Brown, Frisco, Colorado
June 26 – July 17, 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

“ So, so happy to have had Bev and John house and pet sit for us again! They are two of the nicest and most reliable people you’ll ever meet (all of our neighbors now think so too) and the absolute best pet carers. The bond that they have with our 5 pets is so undeniable. 

We were gone for 3 weeks and received daily going-for-a-walk pictures, or a short video, of all 5 pets, along with an “everything is great here” text. As before, our house was very orderly and clean for our return and Bev had prepared an absolutely delicious salmon and mixed veggie meal for us to enjoy with her and John. We had a fun evening together as we recounted our three weeks vacation, and they gave fun stories about our pets during their “stay-cation”. It is obvious that the absolute highest priority for Bev and John is to establish a loving connection with our pets, and then to keep them happily immersed in their normal routines. 

I had mentioned to Bev before we left that I had forgotten to bring our dog Zoe’s “slow-down eating” bowl, and there one was for her upon our return (not to mention a new bag of treats)! They are just such thoughtful and genuine pet lovers, it never ceases to amaze us.

 If you are fortunate enough to have John and Bev offer to pet and house sit for you, you should immediately say “yes”, as you will be giving your pets (and yourself) the very best kind of treat!! (and we’re just sorry that there are only 5 stars to be given for pet care as they deserve far more than that 🙂 ”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Catherine and Jim – Prescott, Arizona, United States
26 April – 9 May 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John were fabulous house-sitters and we would love to have them stay with Casey any time.

We had very good communications with them before and during the sit. We were able to interview them in person and knew right away that they would be a good fit for our sweet, old golden retriever and our house in the woods. They came for dinner the night before we left and we felt like we were leaving our boy with friends we had known for years. They enjoyed Casey, and I am sure he enjoyed their company as well. The house was very clean when we returned and we were greeted with flowers, chocolates and breakfast supplies. If you get a chance to have them sit for you, definitely take it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anne – Big Canoe, Georgia, United States
7 – 20 March 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John are awesome. This is the second time they have taken care of our home and pets and we cannot say enough great things about them. They are well organized and they really love the pets. Our older dog Blue has some health limitations and we know he is in great hands with Bev and John. The are very good at communication while we are gone and they always have the house spotless when we get back home. They have rapidly become friends and are welcomed back to our house at anytime.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anne – Big Canoe, Georgia, United States
8 – 26 December 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John came in and became a part of the family. They stayed at our home for about a month and did an awesome job. We got regular updates on our pets that included pictures and outlined all the activities that our dogs were up to. Our older dog Blue has somewhat limited walking range, but they were able to take him to different parks and for car rides that he loves. Our puppy, Rudy, is a bit more energetic and needs lots of outside time. Bev and John were able to take him on the long walks that he needs.

During their stay we had a family emergency and needed to extend our time by about a week. Bev and John did not hesitate and jumped right in to help us. When we got home our house looked better than when we left and the dogs and cat were all very happy and well cared for. We felt completely comfortable having them in our home. We are planning to ask them back later this year. This was our first experience using Trusted House Sitters and it was an awesome experience thanks to Bev and John. We can’t say enough about them…they are an amazing couple and we are blessed they are now a part of our lives.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Katrina & Madison – Austin, Texas, United States
25 – 29 November 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John were amazing!

They arrived to our house with baked goods for our trip. They also left us with a fresh and healthy meal. The house was clean and the dogs were very very well taken care of. They provided us updates and pictures of the pets. All of our pets have meds and supplements they take and they had no issues providing those for our doggies. We would love for Bev and John to stay at our house again. We know our dogs would love for them to return as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Melanie and Chris, New Orleans, Louisiana
19 October- 3 November, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

From the moment we received the letter from Bev and John about our posting, we just knew that they were the perfect sitters for us! We could not have been more correct about them being PERFECT! We immediately formed a friendship with them over our first meal together, and it was solidified with the many wonderful updates and pictures that they sent us during our 12 days away. Our pets were obviously happy, exercised, groomed and enjoying all the comforts of their own home (plus so many wonderful cuddles). Our dog Zoe even slept with Bev and John (at their invitation) and continued to do so even after we came home!!

The real topper that proved how perfectly calm and unflappable these two lovely humans are was when a hurricane formed and headed right for our city of New Orleans. Since a hurricane had never hit the Gulf Coast this late in the year we had removed all of our hurricane protection shutters just before Bev and John’s arrival. With our phone guidance they replaced all the shutters, removed chimes and yard art (and the other dozens of small outside objects that can become airborne and dangerous during a hurricane) and prepared the animals for the impending hurricane. They were so calm in the face of their first ever hurricane, which turned out to be a surprisingly strong Class II (almost a Class III). Fortunately all turned out okay and everyone was safe, but it made us appreciate John and Bev and their absolute ability to take everything in stride even more than we already did, as a hurricane for the uninitiated can be scary.

On top of all that, they had a lovely meal prepared for us to share with them on our return to our perfectly clean and well cared for home. So together we enjoyed another wonderful evening of talk and laughter. It was so obvious how much all the pets loved them and felt completely at ease in their presence. Us too! We are so very happy to have made awesome new friends (again) through Trusted House Sitters. Happy pets, happy humans, a great experience all the way around 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Terra Schaad, Hunkapi Farms, Scottsdale, Arizona
July 18-21, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The best Pet Sitters ever, keeping us updated on the babies.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monica Starck, Payson, Arizona
July 3-July 8, 2020
&
May 13-18, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Best pet sitters ever!  We returned on Monday to a clean home and very spoiled dog 😊  Think he may have been a little disappointed when we came home…lol
Patron thoroughly enjoyed his daily hikes and all the love he received.  We felt very comfortable leaving our pup and home in capable, reliable, loving hands! 

It was very fun to receive pictures from their daily adventures!  If we have the opportunity to use them again, we most certainly will!  Thanks again Bev & John, you’re the best!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pam & Robert Cardone, Fountain Hills, Arizona
June 22-July 1, 2019

Rating: 5 out of 5.

We believe in serendipity!  Let’s explain.  We recently lost our two dear Schnauzers within 6 months of each other.  While our hearts were broken, we decided the time was not right to get another dog as we are close to retiring and we had our house on the market.  Then came Sophie.  We were introduced to her by a co-worker as a 7 year old mini Schnauzer that had been passed from owner to owner because of their various personal issues.  She needed a new home desperately.

Bev and Sophie

To see her is to love her!  At only 10.5 pounds she is like a little “figurine” as you so aptly described her.  She filled our hearts with so much love even though the timing was awful.  We were due to make a trip that was planned months before but we couldn’t leave her with just anyone or take her out of what we promised would be her “forever home”.

As luck (and more serendipity) would have it, you guys returned from months abroad.  We knew you would love her as much as we do and we couldn’t have been more elated and secure that you could stay with her in our (her) home.

We were able to enjoy our vacation knowing that Sophie was in great hands.  The pictures you sent sure showed her happiness and calmness.  Thank you for being the loving friends and petsitters that make you who you are.  

💞

Love from all of us and many, many thanks,  Robert, Pam & Sophie ”  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Judith & Terry Torrington,
Bouy Luxembourg, France,
April 29 – May 23, 2019

Rating: 5 out of 5.
New friends, Judith & Terry Torrington, of Bouy Luxembourg, from the UK by way of Edinburgh.

“The question is what to say, Bev and John are an amazing couple, not only do we think so but so do our girls, Layla and Jess. We can tell that while we have been away our girls have had a fab time, they look so fit, we wish we had stayed home too. Bev groomed them both and cooked their tea for them, though she didn’t have to. They took such care of our girls and all pet owners will recognise when their pets, dogs for us, show true affection to their carers. This couple are great company, on our return they had prepared a lovely meal and to follow we had a picture show of all the good times they had with our two girls. They didn’t only take care of our precious girls they tended the garden so we didn’t return to foot high grass and the house was good too. We really cant thank them enough and we hope to stay in contact with these two lovely people for another sit or maybe meet up when they are next in Europe. Bev and John are so easy to get on with and we immediately felt confident in our choice of sitter. Thank you both so much, we look forward to seeing you in the future and I would certainly recommend you to anyone looking for caring sitters.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

James & Loree,
Lauzun, France
April 2 – April 29, 2019

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev and Chanel in a quiet moment.

“Bev and John did a fabulous job of looking after our home and our pets and we would happily invite them to our home again. We had the added benefit of their company at the beginning and end of our trip away, so we had a chance to get to know them. We would unreservedly recommend them for any house sitting role!” James & Loree

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yvonne & Steve,
Chabrillan, France
March 27 – April 25, 2019

Rating: 5 out of 5.
John and Jasper in Marsanne

“We have been fortunate enough to have Bev and John look after our house and pets whilst we’ve been away. Two of the most wonderful caring people you could have. We went away confident our pets would be well looked after and loved, as if they were their own. I cannot recommend Bev and John highly enough, so if you have the chance for them to sit for you – do not hesitate and you will be able to leave your home and pets in very capable hands. Our dog Jasper and cat Tinx loved them. We now look upon them as our friends. Thank you both for being so lovely and caring.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Annica and Michael, St. Albans, NSW, Australia – December 21, 2018 – January 6, 2019

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev and Prim 

Wow! We wish we would have stayed at home with Bev and John to be spoilt with the animals. Everyone was happy, content and well cared for when we returned. The house was in great order and we experienced great levels of communication and flexibility along with great care of the home and the animals. We would have loved to keep John and Bev but have to settle with inviting them back in the future .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ray & Diane, Healesville, VIC, Australia ·
16 Dec – 19 Dec 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John are a delightful couple. Very easy to talk to and extremely competent. After chatting on FaceTime in June for about 45 minutes we felt we had known them for years. When we came back from our trip on Wednesday evening they had dinner prepared for us, the house was beautifully kept, and the dogs were very happy. Couldn’t wish for more. Sorry to see them go. We can highly recommend Bev and John.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Deanna & John, Korora Bay, NSW, Australia ·
06 Dec – 11 Dec 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Bev and John are a charming couple and seemed to develop a close relationship with our dog during our absence. We were very happy with the care and interaction that was provided to our pet who continued the connection even after our returned. Thank you Bev and John – enjoy your future international travel sits.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Althea & Terry, Latrobe, TAS, Australia ·
04 Nov – 23 Nov 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
John, Pepper, and Mizzi

“Have just had wonderful sitters, Bev and husband John who looked after my two little dogs Mitzi and Pepper as they’ve never been looked after before, wonderful walks up the mountain every day and when little pepper got tired her Aunty Bev would pick her up and carry her in a baby sling which she loved. The dogs adored them and have been thoroughly spoiled, PLUS I feel that we have become great friends and one day they might return for another sit.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Deidre & Rod, Brisbane, QLD, Australia ·
15 Oct – 04 Nov 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.

“We were very lucky to have Bev and John house-sit for us recently. They looked after our cat Mia very well – and she needed medication twice a day, which Bev handled admirably. We came home to a clean house and a happy, relaxed feline. We also appreciated Bev & John leaving us food in the fridge for a few meals as we were very jet-lagged ! We wish them well in their future house-sits in Australia.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Caroline & Muz, Portishead, United Kingdom ·
01 Jul – 20 Aug 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev, Dotty, and Nimsy 

“Words fail to describe what a wonderful find Bev and John are for both looking after our house, and more importantly our two small dogs. From day 1 Bev and John filled us with confidence by blogging about their stay and providing daily updates on the walks and all the special moments these lovely people spent with the dogs. Nothing was too much trouble for Bev and John, and we really got the sense that they both love house and pet sitting, and made huge efforts to bond both with the dogs and the neighbors. In fact we were so impressed with these wonderful people we are already looking to book them in for next year. It was also very nice to spend a couple of nights in their company, and share in the stories of their house sitting adventurers. Fascinating, kind, caring, couple. Thank you Bev and John we will see you again soon for sure.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Andy & Helen, Sharnbrook, United Kingdom ·
23 Jun – 28 Jun 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Maise and Mole, 

It was a joy to have Bev and John care for our dogs and horses. They take their house sitting very seriously and the animals were in great hands, the dogs loved them and they are experienced in looking after horses! They are very friendly, interesting people and it felt more like having long-lost friends care for our pets. The house was also well cared for and they even watered our plants. We would have no hesitation in recommending them for a house sit!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Julie, Stockport, United Kingdom ·
12 Jun – 17 Jun 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Solly, 

“Bev and John are amazing, enthusiastic, inspirational, easy-going people who have been an absolute pleasure to meet, and to leave in charge of our house and dogs. They cared for the dogs and the house in the best ways possible, and made sure we knew that everything was going well whilst we were away. They made friends with our neighbours and local businesses who will, I am sure, be talking about ‘those guys from Arizona’ for a long while to come. What a privilege it has been to welcome such warm, caring, thoughtful people into our home, and to know that our dogs and our home were all in such safe hands. I can’t recommend them highly enough. Thank you both so much. “

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Vanessa, Aysgarth, United Kingdom ·
04 Jun – 12 Jun 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev and Scout

“Bev and john are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. They looked after our dog scout as if he was their own long beloved pet and our nearby neighbour confirmed that at no point during our time away did he look anything other than 100% happy – which is a 1st for us as he usually mopes and pines. If they lived in the U.K., I’d adopt them as our forever pet sitters. If they respond to your listing I think you’ll struggle to find better candidates for a sit. Our remit was a 7 year old labradoodle, some geriatric poultry and a 13 acre country estate.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jan, Hamble, United Kingdom ·
26 May – 02 Jun 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev, Oscar, and Max,

“Wow, what a great couple. If you are able to persuade Bev and John to do your house sit for you, you are very lucky people! Fantastic with our pets – our boys were clearly missing Bev and John when they left. Great communication both before and during the sit. I left my older dog, who had not been well, confident that he would be well cared for appropriately. Highly recommended.”

 

Jack and John

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Graham, Norwich, United Kingdom ·
07 Apr – 14 Apr 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Sapphire and Crystal

“Thank you Bev and John for looking after our pets with so much love and care. It was great to see your social media posts, whilst we were away, on how the pets were getting on , especially the horses. They took time to clean up horse muck, feed and put rugs on when the weather was cold and wet. On our return Bev and John left our home beautifully clean and tidy. Thank you so much and we hope you find the time again to come back in the future.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Juliet, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom ·
24 Mar – 01 Apr 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Bev and the kids

“John and Bev were the first couple we made contact with on Trustedhousesitters and gave us confidence that it wasn’t a completely impractical idea. They communicate thoroughly and put you at ease and we were very comfortable leaving them in charge of our home and dogs. We even got regular updates while we were away and we enjoyed hearing how they were settling into our community. Even the local tea room sent them a thank you card as they enjoyed their company so much! Honestly if you get the opportunity to have John and Bev house-sit for you, grab it with both hands! We would have them back in a heartbeat.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Rebecca & Simon, Newbury, United Kingdom ·
21 Feb – 04 Mar 2018

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Hamish and Gretta

“Having never used House sitters I did not know before I was a little apprehensive – however Bev and John could not have been more helpful – lots of communication before the actually pet sit and they came to meet me and my dogs before we left on our journey so I could ensure that I could go away with real peace of mind. They were just brilliant – Bev got the measure of Zula my slightly nervous Ridgeback and bonded with her very quickly. Even the adverse english weather conditions didn’t stop Bev and John from taking the dogs out on their long walks and made sure our 2 pet pigs were warm, fed and watered. We had lots of communication whilst away and Everything was great when we got back, House was neat and Tidy and we had very happy and well looked after doggies and piggies. I hope we can use them again in future.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sue & Mic, Southampton, United Kingdom · 10 Feb – 24 Feb 2018

Fynn 

“Thank you to the wonderful Bev and John for looking after our house and our wonderful Fynn! Everything was fabulous and we returned to a very happy dog and tidy house. All the contact I had pre/ during and post sitting was just great. John and Bev were so organised to allow everything to run seamlessly. They came up trumps when we got our return date wrong and John could stay on! Would so recommend John and Bev for anyone looking for a fab couple to look after their home and pet, I hope our paths cross again in the future.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jacquie, Santa Rosa, CA, US · 22 Aug – 27 Aug 2017

Beverly and her husband John were perfect house and dog sitters. They kept in contact before they arrived and while they were at the house. They were flexible, pleasant, and helpful. Would definitely ask them back.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Laura, Paradise, NV, US · 16 Feb – 20 Feb 2017

Imagine Grace Kelly saying “They’re lovely people, just lovely.” That’s what I think of now that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Beverly and John and having them mind my home. They are beautiful inside and out. They doted on my animals, kept my house spotless, and communicated regularly. They were very careful to cover all the details before I left, and when I returned home I found a small gift and flowers on the dining room table. Do not hesitate for a moment. If you have the opportunity to share your home and animals with Beverly and John, count yourself lucky and snap them up! You’ll be happy you did.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Carolyn, Ventura, CA, US · 25 Dec 2016 – 07 Jan 2017

Kiko 

“Beloved. Our beloved pet sitters—Beverly and John—were fantastic in every way. As though we were family, they took care of everything–with grace and style and kindness. Even when a couple of unexpected things came up—one major one especially: we got snowed in and had our flight home delayed a whopping three days. I didn’t dare ask Beverly and John to stay extra—I just told them the situation and offered to have neighbors come in to take care of our pets. But Beverly and John stepped up, rearranged their own schedules and stayed the extra time—despite inconveniences on their part. It was such a relief, when we knew we were stuck and having to make arrangements long-distance, to know we could count on our beloved pet sitters to take care of our four animals and our house for us. When we returned, we found gifts and homemade soup and apple cobbler waiting for us. All the linens were fresh and ready, everything neat—cleaner and neater than we’d left it!—and pristine. The whole experience was delightful—superb communication, conscientious attention to detail, and contented animals to greet us when we got home. Not anxious, not concerned, just relaxed and happy pets—that’s what you want but don’t dare hope for. Such a great experience in every way, I want to ask Bev and John if they’d ever like to come again! ¡Mi casa es su casa! Thank you so much, Bev and John–we send our best to you and hope we get to see you again sometime.”